What's in
  About Me
  More about myself
  My Family
  My Karate journey
  My Travelogue

George Henry - Past & Present

This is George Henry (s/o Late Mr. P. M. Henry & Late Mrs. Mary Swarnam), 44 years old, born on 26th August, 1967 in Kulasekharam (Kanyakumari Dist, Tamilnadu, INDIA). Partly bought up in Mumbai, then shifted back to Kulasekharam. Did my schooling till 2nd Std. in St. Lourdes High School, Kalyan, then 3rd Std. in Samson School, Mulund and 4th std. in St. Pius School, Mulund. In Kalyan, we stayed at Uppal Building (2nd floor) and in Mulund at C-18, Ashok Nagar, Nahur Road. Then 5th & 6th standard at N.V.K.S. Higher Secondary School(CBSE), Attoor, Kanyakumari Dist., Tamilnadu, India. Further on, from 7th to 10th Std. at Arunachalam Higher Secondary School, Thiruvattar, Kanyakumari Dist., Tamilnadu. After my 10th Std. (SSLC), I wanted to go to a better School. So joined Maths group at St. Joseph Higher Secondary School, Kuzhithurai for FOUR days. Then got admission to Carmel Higher School, Nagercoil, Kanyakumari Dist., Tamilnadu and I completed TWO years there, staying in their boarding.

A product of many cultures. I am equally comfortable in the Gulf or Mumbai or at my native place in Kulasekharam. Along the way, I had the opportunity to learn SEVEN languages of which TWO (Sanskrit & French) are out of my bounds.I am fluent in English, Hindi (not good at writing), Malayalam, Tamil and little Marathi. Recently (2004) learnt a bit of Georgian (kartuli) language.

I got reasonably good marks in XII (HSC) and got admission to B.E. (Mechanical) at Government College of Engineering, Tirunelveli on merit basis.

After getting my Mechanical Engineering Degree landed up back in Mumbai looking for job. Did a very short stint (some months) as Sales and Service Engineer with a local company. Then in March 1990, joined Nathani Steel Ltd., Vidyavihar, Mumbai as "Junior Engineering Consultant" for their new Plant (Marine Dry Freight Container) being set-up with Korean collaboration. After commissioning of the project, got transferred to Production. Was there totally for FOUR years.

In March 1994, joined Rajashree Cement (Aditya Birla Group) at their Projects Divn. in Nariman Point, Mumbai as Senior Engineer-Projects. Was there for FOUR Years.

Out of the blue, in Feb. 1998, got selected by M/s. Dodsal LLC, Oman for their PDO Project as Procurement & Sub-Contracts Engineer. Procurement got over ,was transferred to site in August 1998, and due to food problems at site, left Oman in Dec. 1998.

Then got a job in Qatar with Black Cat Construction as Procurement Engineer in Dec. 1999. Rosy and kids joined me in Qatar in Nov. 2000. Was there in Qatar for THREE years. Lost most of my hair due to the hard water. Left Qatar and shifted to Navi Mumbai by mid Feb. 2003.

Got a job with Petrofac International Ltd., Sharjah for their joint venture in Georgia (near Turkey). From Feb. 2003 to March 2005 was in Georgia. Good climate (freezing at times). Rosy and kids remained in Navi Mumbai. I visited them every three months. Then got transferred back to Head Office in Sharjah. Worked for a sister company named Petrofac Facilities Management for their Iran Offshore job. In Sept. 2005, got transferred permanently to the rolls of Petrofac Facilities Management Int'l, to be based at Sharjah. In Oct. 2005, visited Assaluyah, Iran for 10 days. From end Jan. to end August 2006, was deputed to Khartoum, Sudan for Procurement data collection and reports.

In Feb. 2007, was transferred to Kuwait for a KOC Maintenance Project. In June 2008, was offered a job in Libya and I resigned from Petrofac after a long 5 1/2 years. Left Kuwait on 27th July 2008, and reached Tripoli (via Mumbai) on 30th July 2008. I was employed by a company called Alibrandi Impianti and deputed to work as Senior Procurement & Contracts Engineer with Akakus Oil Operations. In July 2010, got a job offer from DeltaAfrik Engg (JV of Worley Parsons) and resigned and returned to Mumbai on 13th July 2010.

Reached Lagos, Nigeria on 29th July 2010, and joined DeltaAfrik Engg on 30th July 2010.

Presently working as Senior Buyer with DeltaAfrik Engg. in Lagos, Nigeria.




Sports Activity - KARATE (4th Dan black Belt)

Films - Sindu-Bhairavi (Tamil), Die Another Day, Aaraam Thampuran (Malayalam), Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gum (Hindi), WAQT (Hindi), DOOM 2 (Hindi), Hum Tum (Hindi), Jab we met (Hindi), A-Team (English)

Others: Photography, Travelling, Fitness and meeting my friends & relatives

Today, there have been 8 visitors (11 hits) on this page!
=> Do you also want a homepage for free? Then click here! <=